HaulKorea
Language
Cart

HaulKorea / All guides

Gmarket Big Smile Day 2026: Dates, Coupons and Buying From Abroad

By HaulKorea · Last checked 2026-10-15

Big Smile Day (빅스마일데이, Bik Seumail Dei) is the twice-yearly sale run by Gmarket and its sister site Auction, held in May and November. The spring 2026 edition ran May 6 to 19. As of October 15, 2026, Gmarket had not announced its November 2026 dates. The last two November editions started on November 1: 2024 ran November 1 to 10, and 2025 ran November 1 to 11.

This guide covers how Big Smile Day works, what the recent editions offered, how its coupons stack, and how to buy from it when you live outside Korea.

Quick facts

Item Value
Run by Gmarket and Auction (Korean open marketplaces)
Frequency Twice a year, May and November
First big edition November 2017
May 2026 edition May 6-19, about 31,000 sellers, 100+ brands
November 2025 edition November 1-11, about 30,000 sellers, ₩55 billion in coupons
November 2024 edition November 1-10
November 2026 dates Not announced as of October 15, 2026
Discount structure Event coupon + brand coupon + card discount
Overseas shoppers Korean site needs Korean account and payment; Gmarket Global is separate

Checked on October 15, 2026.

What is Big Smile Day?

Gmarket is one of Korea's oldest open marketplaces: thousands of independent sellers list products, and Gmarket runs the storefront and payment. Auction (옥션) is its sister marketplace under the same company. Big Smile Day is the shared sale event of both sites.

According to Eroun News, the first Big Smile Day was held in November 2017 as a large year-end promotion. Since then it has run every May and November. Gmarket's own blog describes it as a sale held "every May and November."

The event covers almost every category on the marketplace: digital devices, home appliances, groceries and household goods, fashion, beauty, and travel. Large brands join with limited deals, and tens of thousands of smaller sellers apply their own discounts on top.

Gmarket is now part of Shinsegae Group. Eroun News described the November 2025 Big Smile Day as the first major promotion under the joint venture formed by Shinsegae Group and Alibaba International.

When is Big Smile Day in November 2026?

As of October 15, 2026, no November 2026 dates had been announced. Here is what the recent editions looked like:

Edition Dates Sellers Notes
May 2024 May 7-20 Not stated Two weeks; three-step stacked discounts
November 2024 November 1-10 Not stated 70+ live broadcasts; Star Delivery items
November 2025 November 1-11 About 30,000 ₩55 billion in coupons; daily packs up to ₩300,000
May 2026 May 6-19 About 31,000 1,000 headline deals; up to 60% off
November 2026 Not announced – Check Gmarket's event page

Two patterns stand out. The November editions in 2024 and 2025 both started on November 1 and overlapped with 11st's Grand 11 Day. The May editions run about two weeks, from early May.

That does not guarantee a November 1 start in 2026. Gmarket usually opens a teaser page and pre-event coupons shortly before the sale begins. If you plan to shop, check the Gmarket app or the event banner on the Korean home page from late October.

What did the November 2025 Big Smile Day offer?

The most recent November edition is the best guide to what to expect. According to Eroun News and Dealsite:

  • Dates: November 1 from midnight to November 11, 11 days.
  • Scale: About 30,000 sellers, up 30% from the year before, and about 30 million products at special prices.
  • Coupon budget: ₩55 billion for discount coupons. Gmarket said it would cover the full coupon cost, which sellers used to share.
  • Daily coupon packs: Up to ₩300,000 in discounts per day, split into packs for items under ₩100,000 and for high-priced items such as digital, appliances and furniture.
  • Card and brand discounts: Tens of billions of won in extra card-payment and brand discounts.
  • Daily special deals: Limited-quantity items released every day at 10 a.m.
  • Named deals: Apple Watch SE2, LG StandbyMe 2, Orthomol Immune multivitamins, Aptamil formula, Lenovo Pad Pro, a Shark Ninja blender, a Dreame food waste processor and the Galaxy Tab S10 Ultra.

The November 2024 edition, according to Money Today, ran November 1 to 10 with a daily "Today's Special Deals" section, more than 70 live broadcasts, and Smile Cash rewards for buyers who posted reviews of event items.

What did the May 2026 Big Smile Day look like?

The spring 2026 edition is the latest one, and it shows how the event has changed under the new ownership. According to Kukinews and Shinsegae Group's newsroom:

  • Dates: May 6 to 19, 2026.
  • Theme: Billed as a "blockbuster" shopping festival, with 1,000 headline products pitched at the year's lowest prices.
  • Discounts: Up to 60% off, with stacked coupons and card discounts.
  • Sellers and brands: About 31,000 sellers, which Kukinews called a record, and more than 100 brands including Samsung Electronics, LG Electronics, Dyson, Roborock, CJ CheilJedang, LG H&H and Yuhan-Kimberly.
  • Daily coupons: An unlimited 12% coupon, an unlimited 10% coupon, and a 7% coupon usable three times, each tied to purchase amount.
  • Card discounts: An extra 12% instant discount every day with nine major Korean card companies.
  • Membership: Members of Gmarket's 꼭 (Kkok) membership got an extra 5% in points.
  • Live shows: A nightly 8 p.m. "Sold-Out Show" with limited-quantity items, plus about 20 relay live streams a day.
  • Traffic: Kukinews reported the event passed 10 million visitors in two days.

Day-one bestsellers were laptops and large appliances: the Galaxy Book4, LG gram 15 and Samsung Bespoke refrigerators.

How do Big Smile Day coupons stack?

Gmarket's own blog explains the discount as a three-step combination that runs every day of the event:

  1. The Big Smile Day main coupon (빅스마일데이 본 쿠폰), downloaded from the event page.
  2. A brand stackable coupon (브랜드 중복쿠폰), offered by participating brands.
  3. A card-company instant discount (카드사 즉시 할인), applied at checkout with an eligible Korean card.

The coupon amounts and limits change each edition. In May 2026 the main coupons were percentage-based (12%, 10% and 7%) with caps tied to purchase amount, and the card discount was another 12% with nine card companies.

What this means for overseas buyers: the advertised "final price" often assumes all three steps. The card discount needs a specific Korean card, and some coupons are limited per account or need the app. The price an outside buyer can actually pay can be higher than the banner price.

Discount layer Who can use it Needs
Event main coupon Gmarket/Auction account holders Download on the event page
Brand stackable coupon Account holders, on that brand's items Download per brand
Card instant discount Holders of eligible Korean cards A specific Korean card
Kkok membership points Kkok members Gmarket membership

Can you shop Big Smile Day from outside Korea?

It is difficult directly. Big Smile Day runs on the Korean Gmarket and Auction sites, which expect a Korean account, Korean identity verification and Korean payment methods. The card discounts are Korean cards only.

Check Gmarket Global first. Gmarket runs an English site at global.gmarket.co.kr, whose header says "Worldwide shipping available." Not every Korean listing is orderable there, and prices and promotions can differ, so the Big Smile Day price on the Korean site may not match. If the product you want is listed there and ships to your country, that is the simplest route.

When you need a Korean buyer. If the deal is only on the Korean site, the seller does not ship abroad, or you want items from several Korean stores together, you need someone in Korea to check out.

Buy direct You buy, we ship (package forwarding) We buy for you (HaulKorea)
Korean account and 본인인증 (bon-in injeung, identity verification) Needed Needed Not needed
Korean payment Needed Needed PayPal, once
Event coupons Yours to use Yours to use Applied where available to us at checkout
Korean card discounts Need a Korean card Need a Korean card May not apply
Several stores in one box No Usually Yes
Total before paying Item price only Shipping charged later Full total with international shipping

How do you order Big Smile Day deals with HaulKorea?

  1. Watch the event page once Gmarket opens it. Note the exact time of any limited deal, such as the 10 a.m. daily drops in 2025.
  2. Copy the product link from Gmarket or Auction and write the exact option: model, color, size or set.
  3. Send us the link early. For a time-limited deal, send it before it opens and tell us the time.
  4. Check the total. We show one total that includes international shipping. You pay once by PayPal.
  5. We buy at the price available to us at checkout. Limited deals can sell out first.
  6. We receive and photograph the items at our warehouse in Korea before shipping.
  7. We ship. If the final weight costs less to ship than estimated, we refund the difference. No second charge.

Duties and taxes are not part of our total. The recipient pays local duty, tax and any carrier clearance fee on arrival, in every country. In the US, CBP ended duty-free de minimis treatment for low-value shipments from all countries on August 29, 2025. Our US import duty guide explains how that works.

What is worth buying during Big Smile Day?

Big Smile Day leans heavily toward appliances and electronics, which are not always the best buys from abroad. A quick guide:

Good candidates

  • Beauty and personal care from Korean brands, which are light and often bundled in event sets.
  • Fashion and accessories from Korean brands not sold abroad.
  • Stationery, K-pop albums and hobby goods listed by marketplace sellers.
  • Small kitchen and household goods that do not plug in.

Think twice

  • Large appliances. Korean appliances run on 220V and use Korean plugs. Read our guide to Korean electronics and voltage before buying anything that plugs in.
  • Laptops and tablets. Keyboards are Korean-English, warranties are often Korea-only, and lithium batteries have air shipping rules.
  • Groceries, formula and supplements. Food and health products face import rules in most countries. Ask us before you order.
  • Bulky items. International shipping is charged by weight or size, so a cheap but bulky item can cost more to ship than to buy.

How does Big Smile Day compare with other November sales?

November is crowded in Korean e-commerce. In 2025, Big Smile Day ran alongside 11st's Grand 11 Day, which New Daily reported ran November 1 to 11. Our guide to Korea's 11.11 sales covers how the events overlap.

Event Platform Recent November timing
Big Smile Day Gmarket, Auction November 1-11, 2025
Grand 11 Day 11st November 1-11, 2025
Pepero Day Many stores November 11 every year

If the same product is on several platforms, compare final prices across them. Sellers often list on more than one marketplace, and coupon budgets differ.

How should you prepare before Big Smile Day opens?

Big Smile Day moves fast, especially for limited deals. A little preparation saves money.

  • Make a list now. Search the products you want on Gmarket today and save the Korean links. During the event, the same listing usually stays at the same address with a lower price.
  • Note today's price. Write down the current price of each item. That way you can tell whether the event price is a real discount or a normal price with a bigger banner.
  • Check Gmarket Global. Search each item on the English site too. If it is there and ships to your country, compare that total with a Korean-site order.
  • Read the option list. Korean listings often show the lowest-priced option in the headline. The size or color you want can cost more.
  • Check the seller. Look at the seller name, review count and whether the listing says the product is official (정품, jeongpum, "genuine product").
  • Decide on bundles. If you are buying from several Korean stores in the same month, plan one shipment instead of several. One box usually costs less than two.

What is the difference between Gmarket and Auction?

They are separate marketplaces owned by the same company, with separate accounts and listings. Many sellers list on both. During Big Smile Day, the event runs on both sites, but the same product can have a different price, coupon or stock level on each. If you find a deal on Auction, send us that Auction link, not the Gmarket version.

What can go wrong with Big Smile Day orders?

Limited deals sell out. The headline items are capped in quantity. Have a second choice.

Banner prices assume Korean cards. The lowest price often needs a Korean card discount. Expect to pay the price without it.

Seller shipping delays. During big events, some marketplace sellers dispatch slowly, which delays arrival at our warehouse.

Option confusion. One listing can carry dozens of options at different prices. Copy the option name exactly.

Dates are not final until announced. The November 2024 and 2025 editions started on November 1, but that is a pattern, not a promise.

FAQ

When is Gmarket Big Smile Day in November 2026?

Gmarket had not announced November 2026 dates as of October 15, 2026. The November 2024 edition ran November 1 to 10 and the 2025 edition ran November 1 to 11. Watch the Gmarket app and home page from late October.

Is Big Smile Day on Auction too?

Yes. Big Smile Day is a joint event of Gmarket and Auction, which are sister marketplaces. Deals and coupons usually appear on both, though individual listings can differ.

How much can you save on Big Smile Day?

It depends on the item and coupon stack. The May 2026 edition advertised up to 60% off, plus 12%, 10% and 7% coupons and a 12% card discount with nine Korean card companies. Card discounts need an eligible Korean card.

Does Big Smile Day apply to Gmarket Global?

Big Smile Day is run on the Korean Gmarket and Auction sites. Gmarket Global has its own listings and promotions, so check its prices separately. Use whichever is cheaper once international shipping is included.

Can I use Big Smile Day coupons without a Korean account?

No. Coupons are downloaded to a Gmarket or Auction account, which needs Korean verification. A purchasing agent buys with its own account, and account-specific coupons may not carry over.

What sold best during recent Big Smile Days?

On day one of the May 2026 edition, top sellers were laptops and appliances such as the Galaxy Book4, LG gram 15 and Bespoke refrigerators. Many of these are made for Korea's 220V power, so check voltage before buying from abroad.

Who pays customs duty on Big Smile Day orders?

The recipient pays any duty, tax and carrier clearance fee in their own country. Our total covers the item, Korean delivery and international shipping only.

Getting ready for November

Make a short list now, check whether each item is on Gmarket Global, and keep the Korean links for the rest. When the November event opens, send us the links with exact options and any deal times, and we will show you one total before you pay.

Sources

Official pages and reports we checked for this guide.

  1. eroun.net/news/articleView.html?idxno=66019
  2. dealsite.co.kr/articles/150556
  3. mt.co.kr/living/2024/11/01/2024110109513685290
  4. news.gmarket.com/index.php/blog-detail/?pid=1028
  5. kukinews.com/article/view/kuk202605080124
  6. shinsegaegroupnewsroom.com/gmarket-big-smile-day-2026/
  7. biz.newdaily.co.kr/site/data/html/2025/10/29/2025102900073.html
  8. global.gmarket.co.kr/
  9. cbp.gov/sites/default/files/2025-08/factsheet_suspension_of_duty-free_de_minimis_treatment.pdf